Shopping Blues

Not all of us love shopping. Some of us suck at it, while some of us even get scared of the thought of it. So how does someone like me feels when it comes to shopping… Let’s see.

… …

First of all, when it comes to purchasing something, I’ll just explain myself that I don’t need it. Then after several days or months of finding ways to survive without those things, I’ll finally accept the fact that I need to buy that thing.

No no… This doesn’t mean that I’ll just go there and buy stuff. No. I’ll add that thing in my shopping list. That’s it for now.

Then finally my shopping list will be large enough to call for a day, probably weekend, to go out for shopping.

No, I don’t go shopping here either. My weekend will go finding other stuff to do, trying to persuade my mind that those things are more important than going shopping.

I’ll search on online websites for the products that I want. Scroll and scroll and scroll to find a perfect choice, but then again, there are other websites, which might have different price. So, I’ll just search again on other websites, and again the cycle will repeat. Even if I find a good choice, I’ll just not be able to add it to the cart.

Finally, working without the things becomes difficult, I will not be able to take it more, or probably as someone else has forced me, I’ll go for shopping…

Sulking as it was the shopping day finally, I will just do whatever I can to delay the process. But in the end, I’ll have to go to shopping that day.

Now the first task would be deciding the place to go shopping, deciding on the list of shops. Based on the product that I intend to buy, the options available will be plenty. This is supposed to be a good thing, but not for someone who hates shopping. So, I will pass time asking several friends and strangers about good shops.

Finally I will narrow down to a list of shops where I would set out for finding the products. I will plan my route of transport and will start the journey… preparation for the war actually.

And as soon as I reach the first shop, the war begins…

With so many options and different prices for each options, I will start comparing and evaluating options based on several criteria. Actually, such an evaluation solves the problem of choice for people, but for me, it narrows down to a few favored options. And choosing between them is the actual war. And know that, for me, that’s not easy…

Not just the choices of products, I will even start visiting several shops. This will add more choices to my list, thus complicating it more.

And to add to my problems, I have no idea what do I want actually. What looks good on me, what makes me happy or what do I like out of all the options – I will have no answers to all these questions. And thus, I will not be able to choose from the options.

All these problems combined makes shopping the most difficult task for me. Dilemma from the problem of choice, anger due to lot of options and being unable to choose any, and melancholic feeling from the whole process of shopping makes me feel miserable in the end. Due to this, even after buying something, I will hardly like it as it took a toll out of me while buying that.

At the end of the day, I’d sit in one corner and mope about the purchase that I made, and feel sad for the loss of money that happened. And that night, it will take me great trouble falling asleep.

So, these were my shopping blues…

One thought on “Shopping Blues

Leave a Reply

