A Walk On The Road

Dreaming reality, while on a walk to some destination, narrated by an out of control mind…
… …

Just five more minutes of morning sleep… And you have your schedule delayed. As that five more minutes turn into hours of extra sleep. And as you know, the things we have to do in the morning cannot be skipped. Hence, only option we are left with is to get late.

This was one such morning for me. After the fight with all the things in my house, which were trying to make me more late than I already was, I entered the lift to go down to my vehicle. The boring music in the lift didn’t help better my mood at all. But that reminded me that my vehicle at the mechanics’ garage and I had to take some other means of transport. Damn!

I tried my luck with public transportation and private auto, but as the distance was not that much, none of them seemed to agree at an affordable price. So I had to take a long walk in the warm and soothing light of the global-warming-pissed-off-sun…

It was just a 5 minute ride from my home to the place I had to reach. But when walking in that heat, it would take more than 15-20 minutes. I had totally dropped the idea of getting a lift from someone, as people usually do not help strangers walking on the road, no matter how well they are dressed or look, as recent news stories are rather scary…

To make my “long short walk” less loathed, I started playing by myself while walking. I measured the maximum distance I could cover with my legs stretched fully. I made my each leg compete each other as to which could break the maximum distance covered in one step. People work more rigorously while they are competing someone, they say. And that was working… I was walking faster than I would usually. I was walking in my own mood, swinging my arms and waving my head, like a seven year kid would do.

(But while doing this, I didn’t notice that it would have looked totally ridiculous walk to others. But I couldn’t care less… :P)

A gear-less bike slowed besides me, the girl riding that looked me walking ridiculously and then laughed and stopped the bike ahead of me.

I immediately corrected my walk, rather tried walking in a more “cool” way. But I think it didn’t work out, as she started laughing as soon as she saw me again. 😛

“Yeah I know that was funny. But that helped me walk several hundred meters in this pi- angry sun.” I justified myself, while carefully choosing my words to not swear. 😀

“Yeah! The heat is totally f**king us today!” she agreed and I felt relaxed to know that she was of “cool” nature.

“Hop on if you need a lift. But you have to promise me one thing…” she offered.

“What?” I wanted to say ‘Anything, ma’am’, but controlled my urges.

“You have to promise that you won’t behave like those needy weird jerks that I meet all the time.” she said.

“Well… Would me doing things like I was doing just when you came count in those weird stuff those jerks do?” I played with my words.

She laughed again, and said “Definitely not. That’s… well let’s just say… tolerable.” She laughed again.

I hopped on her bike and she drove off.

“So where to?” she asked.

I said my destination and came to know that we both had to go to the same destination. It was a relief to me and to her also. We don’t trust strangers these days, be the lift-asker or the lift-giver.

She applied a sudden brake and, if you know how those gear-less bikes are designed you would understand, I slid directly onto her and had to hold on to her waist tightly to not fall off from the bike.

“Sorry.” She said in her childish tone.

“It’s okay.” I said. After a while, I added- “From when girls started doing these tricks on bike? To play with the backseat person?”

She started laughing again. “No no…! It was not like that! There was a squirrel on the road. Seriously!” she said justifying her sudden braking. “Although, you gave me a great idea for next time.” she added, and then giggled, while looking back at me through the bike mirror.

I smiled plainly. (Although inside I was not just smiling… I was jumping! Leaping! Crazily waving my head and hands and shouting my heart out!)

“Don’t get your hopes high…” she said “…yet.” Again she played with me and I enjoyed being played that way. 😀

We reached our destination rather quickly than I thought. She was driving fast. Another thing that made me like her more.

“Thanks. You saved my day from ruining.” I said while getting off her bike.

“Yeah? How’s that?” she asked.

“Well, if I had walked all the way here, in this heat, I would have had a very bad mood. And then when that boss would shout at me for his own mistakes, I would have shot back at him and said things which I shouldn’t have. I would have then let out my anger on my friends, just because they let me to. And while going back home, due to the events of the whole day, I would have skipped my dinner and taken my miserable self directly to bed, where I wouldn’t be able to sleep due to hunger and anger together.”

“Wow! That… That was… Well. Thank you.” She said.

We parted at the entry gates, I was walking towards the way to stairs, and she was walking towards the elevator.

“Sure you don’t wanna take the lift?” she said, teasing me to take the elevator with her, winking “Lifts are good, aren’t they?”

“Yes, they are great. But there are some walks which are better than that.” I replied teasing her back. “Not all walks are bad.”

“Sure. Would you walk me back home tonight, after we have had our dinner together?” she said and smiled. I need not say anything, we both knew my answer. I walked up the stairs and she went on with the elevator.

—–

Well, I walked up the stairs, but not in the similar fashion. The paragraph above which I said would have ruined my day had happened in real. There was no lift, no girl, no talking and no nothing.

In real, I walked all the way to my destination, without any lift or any help from anyone. I was filled with sweat, exhaustion and irritation when I reached the place.

But an out of control mind made up this story to divert my attention from the reality…

Leave a Reply

