15 January 2014 [Part 1]

15 January 2014. A “BIG DAY” that had, and will, place a remarkable mark in my life. This day is the birthday of three of my buddies, this day brought tears to many people associated with me, to some tears of happiness and to others in grief.

It was a morning as usual. Nothing so special about it, except that it was the result day for the final exams of the professional course I was pursuing. People I know (actually people who know me) compare me with the mighty devil from Ramayana – ‘Kumbhakaran’. He was cursed that he would be sleeping for six months and eating for balance six months. And people were almost right in comparing me with the devil. Because all I ever wanted was peaceful sleep and satisfying food. That made me happy…

It was almost 10 am. Mum shouted “Get up! Meet! Come on! It’s 10!’ I barely gave her any response. I tried to move but the laziness so crept inside me restricted all my nerves to move even an inch.

Mum gave another try “Get up now! Remember? It’s your result today!?” I said “Yeeessss…’ And went back to sleep, I tried getting up, but failed again, tried one more time, failed yet again, tried one last time, failed miserably. So I finally decided to continue sleeping. But then I remembered…

It was my buddy(s)’s birthday! Yes, it was birthday of three of my friends. I got up straight at once, reached for my phone, and dialed their numbers, one by one. I wished them birthday(s) and started thinking about what happened just a few minutes back. (No! Not that I got up at once to wish but not when my mum was shouting for about an hour! No! Because I was back to my favorite place, my bed, inside the blanket!) I was thinking that the people whom I wished birthday were more interested in one thing I didn’t notice, my result! ‘Oh god! I forgot!’ Were my facial expressions!

I instantly reached for my phone again, typed in the web address to check for result. It was today, but still not ‘declared’. I worried for a while, but then, sleeping was always a comforting option. I was back to my sleeping business…

In the sleep I dreamt about the day before yesterday, when me & my friends went for a movie. I dreamt it little bit differently, making circumstances favouring me… 😉

My phone rang abruptly. I got up quickly (not that I was scared, but the ring was that special one which I had allotted for my special one…) I wished good morning in my usual sleepy tone. But the voice I heard back transformed me from a state of peace to a state of worry and fear! She was crying…!

“Give me your roll number…” I did as I was asked to. She shouted in exclamation that I had cleared my final and I was one of “them” now. But I was more interested in her result. She had not been able to clear one group of two because of deficit of just 6 marks in aggregate. It was devastating for me! I had always wished otherwise…

We talked a few awkward minutes and then disconnected. I quickly messaged her comforting lines (least I could do…) And then it came to me. I shouted “MUMMMMMAAAAAAAAA! Results have been declared..! And I passed!!!” Mum came running to my room, her eyes were filled with tears of utmost happiness! She hugged me tight and ran away to tell my dad. And I went for my usual morning stuff…

When I finished my stuff, I went to check my phone. There were 38 missed calls and about a hundred messages. All were either enquiring about my result or were telling me my result. I murmured “Plz! Why so much fuss?” And replied to all calls and messages and attended to a few more calls and messages. I came to know for another time that there were people who cared for me…

Dad came running from his office, there was again a smile on his face and tears in his eyes. He hugged me, congratulating me for my fruitful efforts. I could almost see pride in my parents’ eyes! I was delighted… After all, the reason I did all that hard work was to see this only! I was almost on the verge of crying when something brought a laugh out of my mouth…

I was checking my marks in individual subjects. Paper X (As we would call it here) marks were just equal to the requirement of passing the subject. I laughed out loud because it has always been like that. Even in the intermediate exams I got the same border line marks in the same subject. One thing was well understood by me – the subject was not made for me! 😀

After that I went to temple to thank God for his blessings and luck (yes luck plays important role in life). I thanked him for the first time in my life (wholeheartedly) because he helped me in bringing that pride on my parents’ faces. That was all I had ever wanted…

When I came back, my day had just started. I had to complete so many tasks in this one day and return back from my hometown to my workplace the next day for continuing training sessions which had a three days break for festive reasons. So it was a busy day for me. Completing the tasks while attending to all the calls and messages was a tough job. Keeping that same expression of happiness and thankfulness on my face and in my voice was aweful when the environment around you is so engrossed in screwing you all over!

Then too I managed all the tasks, except for dealing with one of the government personnel. You can clear 100 such exams easily but can’t get your work done through a government official (of course I’m talking about the legal way…) When I reached home, I was left with only two hours to my return journey. My mini-vacation was over. Leaving home, leaving my mum dad alone was so difficult for me, that I always cried while in the bus. Today too, I would be crying… (Even if it was supposed to be a “happy” day for me…!)

I was packing while listening to what mum was talking to other people and what dad was talking to others. And both of that scared me! People were so interested in me all of a sudden. Even I received calls from people who didn’t even reply to my messages once! Some even asked about my age, interests and past relationships! People are so selfish!!

While I tolerated these “proposals” and ‘offline talks’, there were people who were genuinely happy for me! (I love them all!) Thank god I’ve a few people whom I can call friends indeed! Very few lucky ones get real friends in this world… I talked to all of them. They teased me with “that” salutation (which I so hate! Cartoon Artist!) They asked for celebration party(s). I calculated my estimated expense that I may have to incur to satisfy these party demands. (Yes my professional mind had started working 😛 )

[ I would like to put in here about my sissy cum best friend… She always said that she “knows” that I’ll get through the first time itself! She had full faith on me even when I didn’t! I love her, just love her so much… Then just the day before, I went to temple and there the priest said this “Maro Nath Betho 6e to Maro Lalo Kevi Rite Fail Thay!!” (In Gujarati) I’ll never forget his words…

The most important person who prayed for me all the time was my Nanima… She always wanted to see me fly (not literally guys!) Whenever she prayed, she prayed for my wellbeing. And if god has helped me this time, I’m sure it is because she told him to. Because otherwise, god & me are not that cooperating with each other…

Then were my friends! Who shouted my name with pride and happiness! Who jumped in joy more than me! Who were happy more than me! (Of course they wanted party in return ;-p )

And above all, my parents’ blessings have always helped me in any quest in my life. My mum dad who want nothing but my happiness, have always been so, I dunno how can we describe ‘parents’. I don’t think there would be any word for that in dictionary even!]

My packing was done. Actually I never have to pack anything when I return from home. It is always like take one get one free! If I take two bags to home, I would be returning with three bags…! So was this time. I went with just a backpack. And had to return with two. So I stuffed inside all the things which I may need. While packing, all I thought was about the future. (No not what work would I do! No! How boring!) I thought what would happen when I’ll meet all the people I described above… My best friend, friends, classmates, relatives, colleagues and bosses…

Continued in Part 2…

Leave a Reply

